The Route
The City
Opening hours
and Contact

After Julius Caesar's death, Augustus' power is recognised. Lex Curiata The second Triumvirate assumes power.

32 b.C. Declaration of war to Cleopatra of Egypt.

31 b.C. Battle of Actium. (Augustus and Agrippa vs Mark Antony and Cleopatra).


27 b.C.–14 a.C.
Political principles: accumulation of powers and privileges
Princeps as the centre of power
Image and ideological propaganda
Roman Pax
Origins of the imperial cult: Veneratio Augusti
Augustus as Pontifex Maximus


29–19 b.C. Cantabrian Wars.

29–10 b.C. Consolidation of the Danube Line.


26 b.C. Augustus visits Tarraconensis.

23 b.C. Imperial crisis.

19 b.C. Virgil passes away. Augustus obtains the life consulship and the censorship.


19 b.C. Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa (the best Augustus' general) visits the peninsular north-west and he probably makes topographic and cartographic studies which will facilitate the later urbanization of the territory.


15 b.C. The camp of the Legio X Gemina is settled in the hill.


14 b.C. Augustus visits Asturica.

14 a.C. Augustus' death, Tiberius succeeds him.


TIBERIUS (14–37 a.C.)
12 b.C. Agrippa dies.
8 b.C. Reform of the Julian calendar and construction of the Theatre of Merida.
0–33 a.C. Birth, life and death of Jesus of Nazareth.
6 a.C. Incorporation of Judea into a Roman province.

23 a.C. Pliny the Elder is born , who would define Asturica as Urbs Magnífica.


End of Tiberius' reign and until the age of Claudius. The abandonment of the military camp and the transformation into a city begins: birth of ASTURICA AUGUSTA. The sanitary sewer networks are built, the first urban wall (unlike the low-imperial one) performs a prestige function, the forum and the major public buildings (thermal baths) are redesigned.


27 a.C. Hospitality pacts of the Zoelae (Astur tribe) signed in Curunda and countersigned in Asturicain 152 A.C, in a bronze sheet which is preserved in Berlin.

14 a.C. Caligula comes to power.


41-54 a.C. The Cohors IV Gallorum (Auxiliary Infantry Unit) is settled in the current town of Castrocalbón.

41 a.C. Claudius, Emperor.

64 a.C. Nero, already the Emperor, burns Rome down.


68 a.C. The demilitarization of the Peninsula is granted. Only, the Legio VII will remain in the current León.


With the emperors of the Flavian dynasty, a splendour is stated in Asturica shown, from the archaeological point of view , by the construction peak and the quality of the buildings. This situation is logical since it coincides with an ideal moment of the gold-bearing exploitations, at the dawn of which the transformation of Asturica. itself takes place. It takes the capital status of the Conventus Iuridicus.

69 a.C. Vespasian is proclaimed Emperor.


73 a.C. Astorga receives the Ius Latii from Vespasian (Latin rights for the free Hispaniae) and is attached to the Quirine tribe. Pliny the Elder visits it and defines it as Urbs Magnifica.

79 a.C. Titus. He will be in charge of inaugurating the coliseum: 5.000 animals are sacrificed during 100 days.

79 a.C. Eruption of Vesuvius and destruction of Pompeii. Pliny the Elder dies.

81 a.C. Titus dies and his brother Dominitian succeeds him.

86-92 a.C. Dacian wars.


The oldest dynasty of the Empire. It lasted 96 years. The 'Five Good Emperors' belong to this dynasty:
Nerva, 96-98 a.C.
Trajan, 98-117 a.C.
Hadrian 117-138 a.C.
Antonius Pius, 138-161 a.C.
Marcus Aurelius, 161–180 a.C.
The last and one of the most dreadful:
Commudus, 180–192 a.C.


98-117 a.C. The Aqueduct of Segovia and the Alcántara Bridge are built.


123 a.C. Hadrian travels to Hispania and rules from Tarraco.

135 a.C. Dispersion of the Jews.

166 a.C. End of the Roman Pax.

172 a.C. The "Moorish" (Mauritian people) invade Hispania Baetica.


Imperial household of Roman emperors who ruled over several decades from the end of the second century to the beginning of the following one. It was the last lineage of the Principality and preceded the crisis of the third century.


During the period of Septimus Severus, 193–211 a.C., Asturica takes the capital status of the province Hispania Nova Citerior Antoniniana.

212 a.C. Caracalla (211–217 a.C.) awards the Roman citizenship to all the free men in the Empire.


216 a.C. In the reign of Caracalla, the province Hispania Nova Citerior Antoniniana (la Gallaecia) is created, which Asturica will be a part of.

217 a.C. Macrinu's Coup d'etat. (217–218 a.C.).

218 a.C. Elagabalus comes to power thanks to the conspiratorial help of his grandmother Julia Maesa.


The crisis of the Empire is also felt in the city of Asturica. A reuse of building materials is stated, the building quality declines and the spaces are compartmentalized.

During the third century, the military anarchy is taken over by the age of the Illyrian emperors.

270 a.C. Aurelius rules. Dacia is lost and a wall around Rome is built for fear of invasions in this stage.


The Dominate (284-565 d.C) was the despotic and the last of the two stages of government in the ancient Roman Empire between its establishment in 27 b.C and the official date of the Western Roman Empire collapse, in 476 a.C.

285 a.C. Beginning of Diocletianus' government. The Empire is reorganized in a military and administrative way. There are official persecutions of Christians.


289 a.C. All the provinces are unified in a new superior unity: the Diocese of Hispania, origin of the subsequent ecclesiastic division. Asturica would now be inside the province of Gallaecia.

Although Asturica, will never be as in the first two centuries of its existence, it gathers enough momentum to face and undertake the building work of the defensive enclosure (wall which we still preserve).

293 a.C. The Empire is divided to be ruled by four emperors. This period is known as "Tetrarchy".

305 a.C. After a series of wars, Constantine assumes power. 313 a.C. Edict of Milan, Christianity is legalized.

324 a.C. Constantine is appointed Emperor and reunifies the Empire. 326 a.C. A new capital is founded: Constantinople.

330 a.C. Constantinople, capital of the Empire. Rome: the first Saint Peter's Basilica is built.

381 a.C. Paganism is forbidden.

395 a.C. New and permanent partition of the Empire: Honorius keeps the West,capital in Ravenna and Arcadius keeps the East, capital in Constantinople.

406 a.C. The Barbarian invasions begin.

410 a.C. Alaric sacks Rome.

455 a.C. The Vandals sack Rome.

Last Roman Emperor in the West.

sOdoacer, king of the Ostrogoths, deposes Romulus Augustus. In the East, the Empire would remain until 1453.